Certificate Programs

Advanced Certificate in Emergency Management Studies

Program Summary:

Credits Required: 13
Tuition Per Credit:

Next Start Date:


The Advanced Certificate in Emergency Management Studies program offers advanced instruction related to theory, legal structure, federal doctrine, and practice of emergency management. The advanced certificate addresses the five phases of emergency management: prepare, respond, recover, mitigate, and prevent. It includes courses that deal with the history of emergency management and disaster, legal frameworks and intergovernmental aspects of emergency management, and the role of private and non-profit organizations in disaster response. The program incorporates preparation for, response to, and recovery from natural, as well as man-made disasters. Both public and private perspectives are recognized. Students must complete the introductory course, three courses in advanced emergency management topics and the 1-credit seminar course.


The Advanced Certificate in Emergency Management Studies is a 13 credit program consisting of four required courses. Students may select one of two elective courses to complete the program.

Curriculum Courses

Required Courses (10 Credits)
Course Name
PMT 711 Introduction to Emergency Management
Course Name
PMT 725 Seminar in Emergency Management Response
Course Name
PMT 763 Emergency Management: Preparedness
Course Name
PMT 764 Managing Response to Large-Scale Incidents

ELECTIVES (Students select 1 from the following)
Course Name
PMT 760 Emergency Management: Mitigation and Recovery
Course Name
PMT Business Continuity Planning


Certificate Program Requirements

  • An undergraduate degree from an accredited institution
  • Satisfactory letters of reference


Note: Currently enrolled John Jay College graduate students are eligible to take courses toward the Advanced Certificate in Emergency Management Studies (on-campus or online).

Career Options

Graduates of the Master of Science in Emergency Management will be prepared to enhance their current careers to enter the workforce on the federal level (Emergency Management Specialist, Emergency Preparedness Specialist) with FEMA or the Department of Homeland Security, or within state and local government.